Fifth time lucky for Armenian Cup winners Shirak

FC Shirak have lifted the Armenian Cup for the first time in their history – in their fifth final appearance – following a slender 1-0 victory against FC Impuls in the final in Gyumri.

Shirak celebrate becoming Armenian Cup winners
Shirak celebrate becoming Armenian Cup winners ©Hakber

FC Shirak have won the Armenian Cup for the first time in their history after beating FC Impuls 1-0 in the final.

Shirak had lost all four of their previous Armenian Cup finals – including last season's 4-1 defeat by FC Mika – but with this season’s showpiece being held in their home city of Gyumri, and with the support of nearly 4,000 locals spurring them on, they finally came out on top.

Shirak had the better of a tight, rain-soaked affair, forcing two brilliant saves from Impuls goalkeeper Gor Elazyan in the first half before Lamin Li Yoro gave his side the lead ahead of the interval. Ismaël Béko Fofana missed a golden chance to double Shirak's lead after the break, and although Impuls took the initiative for much of the second half, an equaliser was not forthcoming. Indeed, despite losing defender Karen Aleksanyan to a red card on 89 minutes, Shirak held on for a famous victory.

"We dedicate this victory to our city of Gyumri, where people really love football and always support us," said Shirak coach Vardan Bichakhchyan. "Before the match, I just asked the boys to avoid disappointing our fans. I am really happy that we managed to write another chapter in the history of our club, winning the national cup for the first time."