The official website for European football

FC Salzburg

FC Salzburg
Salzburg were the only side to win all six UEFA Europa League group matches in 2009/10 ©Getty Images

FC Salzburg

Formed: 1933
Nickname: Die Bullen (The Bulls)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• UEFA Cup: (1994)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 6 (2010)

• The club were founded on 13 September 1933 under the name of SV Austria Salzburg after the merger of FC Rapid Salzburg and FC Hertha Salzburg. They were promoted to the Staatsliga A, then Austria's top-flight, for the first time in 1953.

• Salzburg finished league runners-up in 1970/71 to qualify for the UEFA Cup for the first time, but bowed out to Romanian side FC UTA Arad in the first round. Salzburg moved to the Lehener Stadion the following season and their average attendance rose to 8,700.

• With Croatian Otto Barić at the helm, Salzburg won their first Austrian title in 1994, repeating the feat in 1995 and 1997. Their biggest success on the European stage came in 1993/94 when they reached the UEFA Cup final, only to lose both legs 1-0 against FC Internazionale Milano. They participated in the UEFA Champions League for the first time in 1994/95, finishing third in a section also including AFC Ajax, AC Milan and AEK Athens FC.

• Salzburg moved to the Wals-Siezenheim Stadion in 2003, then changed their name to FC Salzburg in 2005. By then they were firmly established at the top of the Austrian Bundesliga, and won the title again in 2007.

• Towards the end of the decade Salzburg strove to make its name on the European stage, bringing in high-profile coaches such as Giovanni Trapattoni, Co Adriaanse and Huub Stevens as well as players of the calibre of former UEFA Champions League winners Alexander Zickler and Thomas Linke from FC Bayern München. They duly won their sixth title - their third in four seasons - in 2009/10.

Club records
Most appearances: René Aufhauser (259)
Most goals: Marc Janko (67)
Record victory: Salzburg 7-0 FC Banants (UEFA Cup, 17 July 2008)
Record defeat: Salzburg 0-7 SK Rapid Wien (Bundesliga, 23 March 2008)

* Last updated on 12 July 2010

Last updated: 13/07/10 12.22CET

Club record in UEFA competitions