The official website for European football

2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: France

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals were held in France from 7 June to 7 July.
2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: France
©Getty Images

2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: France

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals were held in France from 7 June to 7 July.

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals were held in France from 7 June to 7 July. There were 24 finalists including eight European qualifiers alongside the hosts.


Group A final ranking: France (hosts), Norway, Nigeria, South Korea*
Group B final ranking: Germany, Spain, China, South Africa*
Group C final ranking: Italy, Australia, Brazil, Jamaica*
Group D final ranking: England, Japan, Argentina*, Scotland*
Group E final ranking: Netherlands, Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand*
Group F final ranking: United States (holders), Sweden, Chile*, Thailand*



Friday 7 June
Group A: France 4-0 South Korea (Paris)

Saturday 8 June
Group B: Germany 1-0 China (Rennes)
Group B: Spain 3-1 South Africa (Le Havre)
Group A: Norway 3-0 Nigeria (Reims)

Sunday 9 June
Group C: Australia 1-2 Italy (Valenciennes)
Group C: Brazil 3-0 Jamaica (Grenoble)
Group D: England 2-1 Scotland (Nice)

Monday 10 June
Group D: Argentina 0-0 Japan (Paris)
Group E: Canada 1-0 Cameroon (Montpellier)

Tuesday 11 June
Group E: New Zealand 0-1 Netherlands (Le Havre)
Group F: Chile 0-2 Sweden (Rennes)
Group F: United States 13-0 Thailand (Reims)

Wednesday 12 June
Group A: Nigeria 2-0 South Korea (Grenoble)
Group B: Germany 1-0 Spain (Valenciennes)
Group A: France 2-1 Norway (Nice)

Thursday 13 June
Group C: Australia 3-2 Brazil (Montpellier)
Group B: South Africa 0-1 China (Paris)

Friday 14 June
Group D: Japan 2-0 Scotland (Rennes)
Group C: Jamaica 0-5 Italy (Reims)
Group D: England 1-0 Argentina (Le Havre)

Saturday 15 June
Group E: Netherlands 3-1 Cameroon (Valenciennes)
Group E: Canada 2-0 New Zealand (Grenoble)

Sunday 16 June
Group F: Sweden 5-1 Thailand (Nice)
Group F: United States 3-0 Chile (Paris)

Monday 17 June
Group B: China 0-0 Spain (Le Havre)
Group B: South Africa 0-4 Germany (Montpellier)
Group A: Nigeria 0-1 France (Rennes)
Group A: South Korea 1-2 Norway (Reims)

Tuesday 18 June
Group C: Jamaica 1-4 Australia (Grenoble)
Group C: Italy 0-1 Brazil (Valenciennes)

Wednesday 19 June
Group D: Japan 0-2 England (Nice)
Group D: Scotland 3-3 Argentina (Paris)

Thursday 20 June
Group E: Cameroon 2-1 New Zealand (Montpellier)
Group E: Netherlands 2-1 Canada (Reims)
Group F: Sweden 0-2 United States (Le Havre)
Group F: Thailand 0-2 Chile (Rennes)

Round of 16:
Saturday 22 June
38: Germany 3-0 Nigeria (Grenoble)
37: Norway 1-1aet, 4-1pens Australia (Nice)
Sunday 23 June
39: England 3-0 Cameroon (Valenciennes)
40: France 2-1aet Brazil (Le Havre)
Monday 24 June
41: Spain 1-2 United States (Reims)
42: Sweden 1-0 Canada (Paris)
Tuesday 25 June
43: Italy 2-0 China (Montpellier)
44: Netherlands 2-1 Japan (Rennes)

Thursday 27 June
45: Norway 0-3 England (Le Havre)
Friday 28 June
46: France 1-2 United States (Paris)
Saturday 29 June
47: Italy 0-2 Netherlands (15:00, Valenciennes)
48: Germany 1-2 Sweden (18:30, Rennes)

Tuesday 2 July
49: England 1-2 United States (Lyon)
Wednesday 3 July
50: Netherlands 1-0aet Sweden (Lyon)

Third-place play-off:
Saturday 6 July
England 1-2 Sweden (Nice)

Sunday 7 July
United States 2-0 Netherlands (Lyon)

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup comprises two group stages and a play-off round. France qualifying automatically as hosts.

Preliminary round
The 16 lower-ranked nations are drawn into two four-team mini-tournaments played from 6 to 11 April 2017. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the countries and each team plays one another once with the group winners and the runner-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section progressing.

Group stage
Those five teams join the remaining 30 entrants in seven groups of five nations drawn on 25 April 2017 and played from 11 September 2017 to 4 September 2018 on a home-and-away basis. The seven group winners qualify for the finals. The four runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third and fourth in their groups go into the play-offs for the remaining UEFA berths in France.

The four contenders are drawn into two ties played over two legs in October 2018. The two winners then meet in November 2018 to decide the final qualifiers.

Twenty-four teams, including France the other eight European qualifiers, will compete in the finals in from 7 June–7 July 2019. There will be six groups of four teams with the top two plus the four best third-placed teams progressing to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.